Memorandum of Understanding (MOU): Roles and Responsibilities in the Management of Federal Grants and Awards

Upcoming Consultations on New Agreement
The three federal granting agencies—the Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR), the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada (NSERC), and the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council (SSHRC)—have been working to update and strengthen the current MOU which has been renamed the “Agreement on the Administration of Agency Grants and Awards by Research Institutions” (the Agreement).

A consultation process on the draft Agreement will be launched on March 19, 2012 and will end on May 15, 2012. During this time, the agencies will be inviting eligible institutions and the associations and organizations listed above to provide written feedback on the draft Agreement. Representatives of institutions and organizations will be asked to consult with their key internal stakeholders or membership and to report on the collective perspective. Your support of, and involvement in, this process would be greatly appreciated.

Organizations and associations may also submit a request to have agency staff present the draft Agreement at spring conferences. Agency staff will be available on a limited basis and will try to accommodate these requests to the extent possible.
For more information, please contact

Christine Fitzgerald
Executive Vice-President
Canadian Institutes of Health Research

Pierre Charest
Acting Executive Vice-President
Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada

Carmen Charette
Executive Vice-President
Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada

This message was sent to Presidents, Vice-Presidents of Research, Deans of faculties, Research Grants Officers and Business Officers of eligible institutions, and the Association of Universities and Colleges of Canada, Canadian Association of University Research Administrators, Canadian Council on Animal Care, Association of Canadian Academic Healthcare Organizations, Canadian Association of Graduate Studies, Association of Canadian Community Colleges, Canadian Association of Research Ethics Boards, and Canadian Association of University Business Officers.